Self Portrait

self-portrait selfie

I really enjoyed creating this self portrait. I hadn’t used charcoal in a while and was worried I would be rusty with it. After using it for a while I started getting the hang of it and was able to use charcoal better than before. When creating the portrait I originally started with the lighter areas of the photo. I gradually worked my way into darker areas and was able to create a consistent fade by using the blending tools. Using the blending tool I was able to color the majority of the picture and remove pencil lines that were made while using the pencil. One thing that I enjoyed making the most was the facial hair. I used a charcoal pencil and made many dark, small lines and blended the area around each one. It is one of my favorite parts of the piece.

This entry was posted in non-timed based and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

